One last word on hearing

Before I leave the subject of being misunderstood because of hearing loss, I would like to share a story written in The Daily Journal in Kankakee, Illinois. The author of the story is J. Dennis Marek, who has been a practicing attorney in the city for a number of years. I thought the story funny, and it really brings home why it is so important to hear words correctly.

“A couple of weeks ago, I related in my column a hearing mistake in a courtroom that led to my first hearing aid. The word I thought I heard turned out to be ‘peanuts’ rather than a male body part. When I realized the young attorney was trying to tell me my peanut order from Kiwanis was in, I was relieved greatly…”

That is so, so true. Can you imagine what went through his head when he heard his p… is in, instead of his peanuts? I really wanted to pass this story on, it is just so funny and , oh, so true when it comes to mishearing words.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “One last word on hearing

  1. Gina Tasso

    Having hearing loss certainly makes life interesting, and sometimes shocking than need be. Your peanuts example is classic!

Leave a Reply

