Making a Piece of Cake a Piece of Cake to Make

As I have written before, my student gives me many ideas on phrases/cliches to write on. The other day he asked me about “a piece of cake.” I explained to him that when anyone says “that’s a piece of cake” it means that it is easy (to do). So, we discussed what was easy to do, and whether it would be “a piece of cake” to do the task or assignment. The problem is that the longer we talked about something being a piece of cake, the more I wanted a piece of cake. Not good for someone who attempts to follow weight watchers! Cake is not good unless if you can stop at one piece and that one piece of cake can be your food for the day. Not for me, though. I see cake, and I want all the cake — over a few days….I am not a sharer when it comes to cake. So, I never have cake in the house. Period.

In comes Facebook, the social media that I browse at night in front of the tv. On Facebook, my contacts continually stream wonderful looking food to my screen. I look at the food, drool a little over the gooey ones, and pass them along for others to be tormented. Then, someone sent a 37 calorie brownie. Come on, 37 calories! That’s less than one weight watcher point. I could have 4 pieces and still be in my limit. I had to take a better look at this recipe. 

It was true. I calculated the points, and whoola — I found something to eat. But, would it taste good? Flavorable? I had to try making it and seeing if it was going to be a keeper. Now, mind you, it doesn’t look like a piece of cake; you know, the kind I love, double or triple layered with butter frosting in the middle and on the sides, and oh yes, the frosting is piled high on top, too. There shall be no skimping there. But, my new-found piece of cake is chocolate, and there is flavor, and the ingredients are good for you, and I was satisfied. It suppressed my chocolate craving, and tantalized my tongue with a bit of that cake texture.

Not only that, but it was a piece of cake to make. My new-found piece of cake is a piece of cake to make. The great thing about it is that those three little pieces are less than one point each. 

Here’s the recipe:

3/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt

1/4 cup skim milk

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/2 cup Old fashioned rolled oats

1/2 cup Truvia (or any natural/stevia based sweetener that pours like sugar)

1 egg

1/3 cup  applesauce

1 t baking powder

1 pinch salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease 8×8 pan. Combine all ingredients into a food processor or blender until smooth (about 1 minute). Pour into dish and bake for 15 minutes. Cut into 9 large squares.

That’s it. A Piece of Cake. Really, the piece of cake was a piece of cake to make. 

Image

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Making a Piece of Cake a Piece of Cake to Make

  1. Bnichols

    I’ll give it a try!

Leave a Reply

