It was an all thumbs beginning!

Have you ever had one of those days where every time you picked something up, you dropped it, or handled it awkwardly enough to not have the item do what you want it to do? That was me a few days ago. I felt I was “all thumbs”.

I was going to write, and then I dropped the paper, and I dropped the pen. I picked up the pen and before I could put it on the table I dropped it again. I picked up the paper and that was okay. The piece of paper made it to the table. I thought to myself, this is crazy. So, I decided to go out for breakfast. I got the key from my purse, dropped the key, I picked up my sunglasses, dropped the sunglasses. I knew I was tired, but this was crazy. So, I did the next best thing.

I took a nap; really, a “cat nap”. You know, the one that lasts for about 20 minutes and you’re ready to go. I think they call those naps “speed napping” now. Personally, I like the idea of cat napping instead — sprawling on the sofa like a cat, hunkering into the recesses of the sofa, and closing my eyes to slumberland. It’s dream time. The time where I live another life. It’s just that I usually can’t remember what the other life is doing. There is not a care in this world, I am like a cat, napping.

I don’t want to think that I have to hurry up and sleep (“speed napping’). Shoot, we hurry too much in the world now. Who wants  to hurry while you sleep? Could you imagine speed sleeping — instead of enjoying that cup of java with friends in dreamland, you are speeding around making the coffee, talking while you are working, you are “on the go”. Wears me out just thinking about it, and I am suppose to be sleeping, rejuvenating my body for the next 16 hours! No thank you, I’ll stick with cat napping.

Simply, I needed to start my day over. And I did. I cat napped, and I was no longer “all thumbs”. It’s amazing what a little “shut eye” will do. I was ready to start “speed living”, finish what I had on the agenda for the day. My “thumbs down” day because of being “all thumbs” ended with a “thumbs up”. Pens and paper were on the table. Keys were back in my purse. Life continued.

Have a great day!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “It was an all thumbs beginning!

  1. Shari

    That, my dear, is also referred to as a ‘power nap’! Furthermore, multi-tasking is the buzz word these days…making coffee, listening to phone messages while you’re on Facebook…we could go on and on!!!

Leave a Reply

