To text or not to text

2good2bforgotten. I remember that text precursor — I was in grade school and we would fold a piece of paper to open with the words spelled on the folded parts. It was fun. Then, when my sister went to work, she was a whiz at shorthand and I would see all those squiggly marks on a piece of paper and wonder what they all meant. Later, when I studied Journalism and then worked in the field, I made up my own abbreviations so I could take as many notes and quotes as my hand could write. Now, I drive down the road and look at license plates and try to figure out what the letters could mean. It’s fun, and probably the result of all those road trips the family took when I was young when we would call out letters or words we saw on billboards as we went down the highway,

Then there is today or should I write 2day. I will say that I probably text more than I call because sometimes I just need to ask a question or make a comment, and I know once I get on the phone there is at least a 30-60 minute conversation, so I text, unless if I have the time to converse or the topic warrants a conversation. Usually, though, my conversations entail a f2f that also includes food and 😀 or LOL.

I remember the first time I was aware of text symbols — I was reading some trash mag and Paris Hilton was fighting with her BFF Nicole Richey. I thought BFF meant best female friend until I started seeing the males use it. I was saying to myself, these are not girls, so BFF does not mean best female friend. After research, I found it means best friends forever. Whew! Got that one. And I do not feel alone after watching a recent commercial on the tele where this one man is trying to figure out what the IDK means on his phone. His neighbor pipes in and says, “I don’t know” with the original guy saying, “I don’t know either”.

There’s a whole new way to converse today, and it is called texting. I have heard that students are trying to incorporate the text symbols into their school papers, but so far, they are unacceptable (and I hope 4e). I have seen the texting in the written word, I have heard the abbreviations in conversation (BRB) and I will assume that if not already, there will be text words assimilated into the English language dictionary. I will have 2CIO and report BTU.

If you are interested in learning more texting symbols, I found a huge list on http://www.netlingo.com, and some on http://www.mob1le.com. You will find mom is a 303, and 9 is parent watching while a 99 is a parent no longer watching. You can spell an angel as o:-) or maybe you are playing around and need to stick out your tongue, :-P. Of course, when you want to be heard you can :@ from the rooftops, but please do not be %-} when you are on that roof or u may fall off. I was under the impression that 7K meant 7,000 but today it means “sick”, and I am way too old to say A3.

IOW, have a GR8 day, and you can always give me your 02 or (m.02) FWIW. LOL.

 

On another note (completely unrelated but for my love of words) the H2 channel will continue with the series “America’s Slang” this Saturday night.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “To text or not to text

  1. Jean Skelly

    Cute!

Leave a Reply

