I Missed the Boat

sailing-boatI wrote last week at the end of my blog that I would write again on Friday. I am so sorry, but I missed the boat on that one! I was so caught up in trying to format my book that I have not even looked up to see what day it is. Finally, today, my artist came over and I told her that all was well in Windows 10 but once I converted it to the PDF the pages were then messed up. I was at my wit’s end! She is helping me with the conversion.

But I do not feel that bad because I talked with a friend whose husband writes reports and he has the same problem when he converts to a PDF. I am getting there, but because I have only ate and slept formatting for a good month now and longer, I am beyond exhausted and my eyes will never be the same! So, my artist told me to take the next few days off from the computer, and she would call me by Saturday with her results. But….I really need to get back to my idiom blog (I really do enjoy writing this). So, it’s back to I Missed the Boat.

This saying is derived from England when they said (and probably still do) that they have missed the bus. I never found how the word went from bus to boat, but thinking about it, the British walk and ride buses and most Brits are there to stay. Originally,  Americans came here by boat, and even though the saying originated long after we started arriving on these main lands, we understand that our ancestors came by boat. Thinking about that even further, maybe that is why we love to cruise. Or, some of us love to cruise. That boat journey is in our DNA. It’s in mine, I know.

So, what does this phrase mean. It could literally mean that someone missed the boat, they failed to board the boat, but more so, it goes further than that. Remembering that a boat takes you on a journey, and in the beginning the journey leads to (at least) the dream of a better life, an opportunity to succeed. Therefore, sometimes when we say we missed the boat it means that we missed an opportunity to succeed. For instance, I missed the boat when I turned down a job opportunity that I thought was not a good fit for me, but it ended up being wildly successful for someone else, and I felt I missed the boat. I should have taken the opportunity.

20160730_184330

Now, don’t get missed the boat confused with “that ship has sailed”. Although these two phrases mean the same as a failed opportunity, the sailing ship has to do with the opportunity has passed to fulfill it one way or the other. This is when I did not have the opportunity to turn down the job offer, because I was too late to take advantage of it. (I will say, though, that “miss the boat” can be used for being too late to take advantage of an opportunity. There’s such a subtle distinction between the two phrases and when to use which.)

We also can use “miss the boat” when we are referring to someone who simply does not understand the concept or importance of an idea. This is used in a negative connotation, so this is not really one of the meaning I use. It is a derogatory statement about a person — “…he really missed the boat by his beliefs…”

Which brings me to how I used the word…to have made an error or a wrong. I was just plain wrong to not write on Friday or to say I would and then did not. I really missed the boat. And even though I have a valid excuse, I did miss the boat; it has nothing to do with my ship sailing, because it hasn’t, it’s still in dock, it’s just that I missed the boat.

Today, I will leave you with I hope to write on Friday.

Until the next time…have a great one!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under idioms, phrases

Leave a Reply

