Dirty Laundry

I am a creature of habit. Every morning, I wake up to the radio playing, and more than not, there are certain songs that air about the time I wake for the day. One of those songs is Dirty Laundry by Don Henley. I really like his beat, and I really like his words, and these lyrics are so true for yesterday, today, and more than probably, tomorrow. The song starts with “I make my living off the evening news…People…love dirty laundry…”

laundry-servicePeople don’t really like dirty laundry, and he is not singing about the dirt that stains clothes.

He is telling the listener about words and acts that have no business being aired; yet, that is exactly what some news is all about….”kick ’em when they’re up, kick ’em when they’re down…” He is telling us that is the job of the newsman, the evening newsman, alive in every living room across the nation. Ready to air the dirty laundry, and if you are around, whether you like it or not, your dirty laundry…”kick ’em when they’re up, kick ’em when they’re down, kick ’em all around…” It’s the newsman’s job, the evening newsman, alive in every living room across the nation as we sit mesmerized in front of the boob tube, believing the five seconds of news as gospel truth.

That is what is strange about dirty laundry. Believing words spoken, second-hand words, hearsay words, as gospel truth.

Gossip-1I believe everyone has met at least one gossiper in their lives. And who doesn’t like the office gossip? You know, who’s doing what to who? Then, there is the gossip that turns to dirty laundry — talking about things that should be kept private.

Happens all the time, especially today with social media. Really, folks, how much information out there is none of our business? I know, for me, that there is so much information that I do not need to know or care to know that I don’t even pay attention to most of it any longer. I am immuned from all the dirty laundry. Simply, I believe nothing today. Nothing.

Actually, I do not watch the evening news any longer. Another murder, another robbery, another way to hurt another human. “Kick ’em when they’re up, kick ’em when they’re down…dirty little secrets…dirty little lies…”

Dirty laundry. Words that should be kept private.

If you are interested, you can hear the song on You Tube.

Until next week…have a great weekend…

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under idioms, phrases

Leave a Reply

