Too little, too late

“I’m late, I’m late for a very important date. No time to say hello, good-bye, I’m late, I’m late, I’m late…” that was what the White Rabbit said in 1951 when we watched Disney’s Alice in Wonderland. And, isn’t that how we feel some of the time, most of the time sometimes, it’s all about time?

maxresdefault (1)I’m always looking at the clock — don’t want to be late for that important date. If I am too late, then, I may be too little, too late. Then, oh my, people may have been waiting, and then once I get there, I may not be able to be useful to the situation. Oh my, I was running late because I was baking a cake, and then I ran out of time, and now it’s too little, too late. The dinner is over, and people are beginning to leave and the cake I took so much time to make is not useful because I am late. Oh my.

I’d rather be in the nick of time, when I arrive late but the dessert has not been eaten. At least people will be able to enjoy my time spent on the cake. Of course, my cake was the only dessert served, so people everywhere are telling me I have arrived in the nick of time. Or, when they are a bit perturbed that I am running late, they may say, well, it’s about time! They want to tell me they have been waiting a long time, and wondered if I was going to arrive before it was too late. You know, too little, too late….

Which brings me back to the White Rabbit and Alice in Wonderland. In Lewis Carroll’s book, “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” the white rabbit is introduced in chapter 1 with “Oh dear! Oh dear! I shall be too late” which was converted to what we know as the white rabbit saying, “I’m late, I’m late for a very important date…” which was converted to Grace Slick’s psychedelic song “White Rabbit” when she sings with Jefferson Airplane, “One pill makes you larger and one pill makes you small and the ones that mother gives you don’t do anything at all….” which brings us to the Netflix “White Rabbit Project” which brings us around to China’s White Rabbit candy or Moscow’s White Rabbit restaurant.

And it all started with one little white rabbit being too little, too late for his important date with the Queen of Hearts, or maybe he just made it in the nick of time as everyone yelled it’s about time….

It’s time to reread Alice.

Have a great one…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

